🏢

How to Use the Floor

Table of Contents:

Floor of VoicePing

Other than the “Meeting Rooms” in VoicePing, the “Floor” is a virtual space for communicating with teammates. The floor of VoicePing is shown in the picture below. You can move freely, use the desk and chairs, and have chats with teammates on the floor.

Floor
Floor

Like a real office, the floor allows you to sit and work freely, speak with your co-workers, and have meetings.

Creating a New Floor

By clicking on the “+” button displayed on the right corner of the sidebar which is on the left side of the screen, you can add a new floor.

image

※ The maximum number of floors that can be created differs depending on your plan. Please refer to this page for more information on Plans & Pricing.

In addition to the images provided, you can upload your own images and use them for the floor.

Uploading images for the floor
Uploading images for the floor

Three Ways to Move Your Avatar

Avatars can be moved by the following 3 ways.

  • Arrow Keys: Avatars can be moved right, left, up, and down by the arrow keys.
  • Drag & Drop: Avatars can be dragged and dropped using the mouse.
  • Double-click: Avatars will teleport to the place you have double-clicked on.
Three ways to move your avatar: Arrow keys, drag & drop, and double-click

Turning Audio, Microphone, and Video ON/OFF

Turning audio, microphone, and video on/off
Turning audio, microphone, and video on/off

The audio, microphone, and video can be turned ON/OFF with a single click from the three buttons in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen.

  • When the audio is turned off, you will not be able to hear the voices of other members.
  • When the microphone is turned off and you are on mute, other members will not be able to hear you.
  • When the video is turned on, other members will be able to see your face.

※ These features can be used in meeting rooms as well. Please refer to this page for more information on how to use the meeting room.

Space Around Avatars: Area Where Voices Are Reached

💡
On the floor, only members within the white circle can hear each others’ voices.
Area where voices can be reached
Area where voices can be reached

When your avatar is moved, a translucent circle will appear around your avatar as shown above. Only people in this circle can hear and speak to each other.

Adjust the Audible Range

Workspace administrators can adjust the reach of voices on the floor.

  1. Click on the gear icon at the upper right corner of the screen
  2. Click on the arrow next to “Audible Range” in the “Workspace” tab
  3. Click on the desired size
  4. Click on “Update”
Adjusting the audible range

Speaking with Members on the Floor

See the page below for information on how to reach out to members on the floor to have conversations.

Noise Cancelling

The noise cancelling function blocks background noise, reducing the sound of busy streets or shops. Speaking to coworker and having conferences are less stressful, knowing that the other party can hear you and recieve accurate information.

Turn on Noise Cancelling

  1. Click on the arrow next to the microphone icon
  2. Click on “Enable Noise Reduction”
Turning on noise cancelling

※When using Bluetooth headphones that already has a noise cancelling function, the two may interfere with each other and may not work. In such case, turn either one off.

Screen Share with Everyone on Floor

  1. Click on the gear icon at the upper right corner of the screen
  2. Click on “Workspace”
  3. Click on “Screenshare Visibility”
  4. Click on “Update”
Screen sharing with everyone on floor

※ When “Screenshare Visibility” is turned on, all users on the floor can see your screen

※ When “Screenshare Visibility” is disabled, other users will not be able to see your screen (like the image below)

image

Screen Share with One-Click

  1. Place mouse over avatar (in a different app)
  2. Click on the icon with an arrow

(When you want to stop screen sharing, click “Stop Sharing”)

Screen sharing with one-click

Chat

By clicking on the “Chat” button in the toolbar at the bottom of the screen, a chat-box where you can send messages to team-members will appear.

The following are the options of those you can chat with:

  • A specific member (Direct message)
  • Members nearby (Members within the audible area)
  • All members on the floor (All departments)
Chatting on the floor

Save Chat History

  1. Click on the gear icon at the upper right corner of the screen
  2. Click on “Workspace”
  3. Click on “Enable Text Chat Saving”
  4. Click on “Update”
Saving chats

※ Chat history on both floors and meeting rooms are saved for two days with “Enable Text Chat Saving” turned on.

Removing a Floor

  1. From the sidebar on the left, click the kebab menu next to the name of the floor you want to delete
  2. Click “Delete”
Deleting a floor

Other features:

Inquiries

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at support@voice-ping.com.

@October 18, 2022 Updated by VoicePing inc.